Why? and The Moore Brothers at Rhino’s – 13 November 2009

Why- at Rhino's 13 November 2009 (7 of 15)

Why? are a band I just got into fairly recently. I listened to Alopecia for a little while then put it down. When I picked it up again I listened to it nonstop until Why? actually came here. They are touring behind their newest album Eskimo Snow which I don’t think is quite as good, but is still a decent album. Local band Tammar also opened the show, but I missed them because I guess they only played for about 20 minutes.

Katie wrote the review of the show, and I got pictures and video.

Originally published on The Live Buzz on November 16, 2009

Why- at Rhino's 13 November 2009 (4 of 15)

If I had to choose one album that defined my freshman year of college, I would hands down pick Alopecia by Why?.

I can’t even come close to being able to count the number of times I listened to that album. Whether I was walking to class or staying up late working on homework, Alopecia was by my side and in my stereo. When I heard that they were going to be town that year, I was ecstatic. Unfortunately, they played at Bear’s, a venue that is 21+, so I wasn’t able to get into the show.

Needless to say, finally getting to see Why? last Friday at Rhino’s was a wonderful and satisfying experience.

Local band Tammar was the first band to play that night, but I unfortunately missed their set. Luckily, I’ve gotten to see them a few times already, as they play quite frequently in Bloomington. They are definitely one of the best local bands I’ve seen perform.

Acoustic duo, The Moore Brothers played next and uncannily resembled Tenacious D. They were a lot quirkier than expected; in one song they beat boxed and in another they rapped a segment from Eric B. and Rakim’s “Microphone Fiend”.

The Moore Brothers at Rhino's 13 November 2009 (1 of 15)

I didn’t particularly like their music and it wasn’t something I would have expected to see before Why? but I must say that I did enjoy their cover of “Billie Jean” by Michael Jackson.

When they were done with their set, the crowd waited patiently for Why? to take the stage. As a smaller band without an excessive amount of instruments, I figured that they wouldn’t take long to set up. However, after a half hour had passed, I began to grow impatient. Rhino’s was extremely hot and there was an abundance of excited young girls who didn’t have any qualms about stepping on people’s toes.

Why- at Rhino's 13 November 2009 (15 of 15)

45 minutes later, after decidedly taking off my tights to help quell the heat, the band announced that they were finally ready. They apologized for missing their sound check earlier that evening and explained that they had missed it because of the eight hour drive from Iowa to Indiana.

Watch their performance of “One Rose” off Eskimo Snow:

As soon as I heard the opening beats of “The Vowels Pt. 2” however, all was forgiven. With bone-crushing beats and an added echoing effect on Yoni Wolf’s vocals, this beast of a song was absolutely incredible live. It was the first song I had ever heard by Why? so the experience was truly special.

Why- at Rhino's 13 November 2009 (10 of 15)

Going into the concert I thought Why? would mostly play songs off Eskimo Snow since that is the album they are currently supporting on their tour. Practically all the songs they played were off Alopecia however, which was quite a nice surprise for me. It’s not that I don’t like Eskimo Snow, but as I said earlier, Alopecia is very sentimental to me.

Yet another great surprise of the night was their performance of the epic and raw “Simeone’s Dilemma”, which I believe is one of their most underrated songs. The drummer completely let loose, exposing his talent and the deliverance of Yoni’s rhymes gave me the chills.

Why- at Rhino's 13 November 2009 (11 of 15)

Although I could have been completely satisfied after hearing that song, when they performed “The Hollows” as their last song of the night, I was even happier.

This is their performance at the show:

They didn’t give the crowd the satisfaction of an encore, but in all honesty it wasn’t needed. The concert was the perfect length and they played every song that I wanted to hear. If you ever get the chance to see Why? live, please don’t pass up the opportunity, they are truly incredible.

Set List

  • These Hands
  • The Vowels Pt. 2
  • Good Friday
  • January Twenty Something
  • Gnashville
  • Brook & Waxing
  • Gemini (birthday song)
  • One Rose
  • A Sky For Shoeing Horses Under
  • Simeone’s Dilemma
  • The Hollows

XOXO,

Words by Katie McKenna
Photos and Video by David Ray

You can check out more videos on my YouTube channel and more pictures on my Flickr.

~ by masterodisaster on November 18, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
