Pygmalion Music Festival 2009

DSC_3468
The Antlers perform at the Canopy Club on Friday evening, the third day of the Pygmalion Music Festival

Last weekend I went to the Pygmalion Music Festival which is held every year in Urbana, Illinois. The festival was four days long, but I was only there for the weekend shows. Still, I caught some amazing stuff. On another note, I have started photographing (and maybe writing) for the Indiana Daily Student’s music blog, The Live Buzz. That’s how I got the press hookup for the festival. Hopefully I can help them cover more of the great shows that go on in Bloomington, since it is tough for me to do it all myself. They have some great writers and I look forward to doing more work for them. You can check out Katie’s post about the festival and my slideshow (since free wordpress won’t let me embed slideshows on here). The Antlers and Iron & Wine were the highlights of the weekend for me. Here are some of the pictures I took, and the rest are up on my Flickr.

IMG_5644
Peter Silberman of The Antlers

DSC_3493
Peter Silberman and drummer Michael Lerner share a special moment Friday evening at The Canopy Club

img_5742
Sam Beam of Iron & Wine talks to the audience before his performance Saturday night

img_5823
Sam Beam of Iron & Wine played a solo acoustic set Saturday evening at the Krannert Center in Urbana, Illinois.

img_5766
Sam Beam plays to a sold-out audience Saturday evening at the Krannert Center

img_5850
Jona Bechtolt of YACHT likes to make triangles at the audience.

img_5871
The Hood Internet performing Saturday night at The Canopy Club

img_5889
A sweaty crowd dancing to The Hood Internet at The Canopy Club Saturday night

img_5892
30 seconds of The Canopy Club on Saturday night, the last night of the festival

~ by masterodisaster on September 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
