InInIn’s Picks for SXSW!

overwhelmed

The South By Southwest festival awaits! I will be heading down Tuesday to Austin, Texas for four days of debauchery and great music. You can follow my Twitter to track where I am and what I am doing. It would be impossible for me to see all the bands that I want to see, but I have a few things that I don’t want to miss…so here they are, my personal picks for the festival:

Thursday

During the day…
lose-control-party

Lose Control!
@Canvas Bar & Gallery (105 E 5th Suite 113)
21+
Friend of the blog, DJ SKASEII will be performing right at the crack of noon! Other artists, including The Hood Internet will be performing throughout the day and night.

In the nighttime…

Secretly Canadian Logo

Secretly Canadian/Jagjaguwar/Dead Oceans & Youtube Showcase
8:25pm – 2am @Mohawk and the Mohawk Patio (912 Red River St.)
All Ages

Featuring:
Mt. St. Helens Vietnam Band
Julie Doiron
Foreign Born
These Are Powers
Women
Richard Swift
Bishop Allen
Phosphorescent
BLK JKS
Akron/Family
Special Guests


And for a crazy night…

MONOTONIX!!!

monotonix

I don’t think I can stress this enough: GO SEE MONOTONIX. It is an experience that everybody should have at least once. They are 3 sweaty, hairy dudes from Tel Aviv, Israel. I saw them when they played the Blue Bird last year and it was by far the craziest concert I have ever been to. You will leave drenched in beer and sweat but hey, that’s how rock n’ roll should be. This is basically how the experience goes:

Monotonix are playing four times at SXSW:

Wednesday: Red Bull Moon Tower – 3AM
Thursday: KVRX Party @ the Ballet – 2:30AM
Saturday: Mess With Texas @ Waterloo Park – 6:15PM and Panache Showcase @ Mohawk – 1:00AM

Saturday

sxseattlelogo

SXSeattle
Noon – 6pm @Palm Door (401 Sabine)
All Ages
FREE

Featuring:
Blue Scholars
Common Market
Past Lives
Barcelona
Natalie Portman’s Shaved Head
New Faces
Mt. St. Helen’s Vietnam Band
Dynah
Hey Marseilles

I’m excited about the Blue Scholars, as they are one of my favorite hip hop groups. I doubt they will be coming toward little ole Indiana soon so I hope to catch them while I can. They are scheduled to play at 5:15pm.

Well that’s all I have for now. Obviously there are about a million bands playing that I want to see, but I won’t list them all. I hope to make it out to see The Handsome Furs, Circle Jerks, Eli Paperboy Reed & The True Loves, Wovenhand, and much much more.

~ by masterodisaster on March 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
